News Opinions Politics World

How Far Right Are the 20 Republicans Who Voted Against McCarthy

The Republicans who blocked Representative Kevin McCarthy of California from becoming speaker on Tuesday include some of the most hard-right lawmakers in the House; most denied the 2020 election, are members of the Freedom Caucus, or both. Here’s a closer look at the 20 lawmakers.

Re-elected representatives

Newly elected

Andy Biggs

Ariz. 5th

Dan Bishop

N.C. 8th

Lauren Boebert

Colo. 3rd

Michael Cloud

Texas 27th

Andrew Clyde

Ga. 9th

Matt Gaetz

Fla. 1st

Bob Good

Va. 5th

Paul Gosar

Ariz. 9th

Andy Harris

Md. 1st

Mary Miller

Ill. 15th

Ralph Norman

S.C. 5th

Scott Perry

Pa. 10th

Matt Rosendale

Mont. 2nd

Chip Roy

Texas 21st

Byron Donalds

Fla. 19th

Josh Brecheen

Okla. 2nd

Eli Crane

Ariz. 2nd

Andy Ogles

Tenn. 5th

Anna Paulina Luna

Fla. 13th

Keith Self

Texas 3rd

12 denied the results of the 2020 election.

More than half of the lawmakers who voted against Mr. McCarthy explicitly denied the results of the 2020 election, compared with about 15 percent of the 222 total members in the Republican caucus, according to a New York Times analysis. These Republicans said that the election had been stolen or rigged — or that Donald J. Trump was the rightful winner — even though Joe Biden earned seven million more votes and 74 more electors than Mr. Trump.

“President Trump won that election,” said Anna Paulina Luna of Florida, one of the five newcomers who opposed Mr. McCarthy’s speaker bid. Representatives Matt Gaetz of Florida and Andy Biggs of Arizona, who have emerged as ringleaders against Mr. McCarthy’s bid, have also called the 2020 election stolen.

Nearly all of the lawmakers who voted against Mr. McCarthy made statements casting doubt on the 2020 election, often repeatedly, not unlike the overall Republican caucus. At least 180 of the 222 House Republicans have questioned 2020, according to The Times’s analysis.

19 are associated with the Freedom Caucus.

Most of the lawmakers who voted against Mr. McCarthy — at least 95 percent — are members of the House Freedom Caucus or were recently endorsed by its campaign arm. By contrast, just about a fifth of all House Republicans are estimated to be part of the ultraconservative caucus, considered to be one of the farthest-right groups in the House.

In the third round of voting on Tuesday, all 20 of the lawmakers defying Mr. McCarthy voted for Jim Jordan of Ohio instead. Mr. Jordan, who himself voted for Mr. McCarthy, is a founding member of the Freedom Caucus and has repeatedly cast doubt on the 2020 election.

Almost all of the incumbents were “objectors.”

Fourteen of the 15 incumbents who voted against Mr. McCarthy were among the 139 House Republicans who, on Jan. 6, 2021, voted to overturn the 2020 Electoral College results. Comparatively, fewer than two-thirds of House Republican incumbents were objectors.

17 were endorsed by Trump in 2022.

About 85 percent of the lawmakers who voted against Mr. McCarthy were endorsed by Mr. Trump before the 2022 midterm election, a higher share than the 67 percent in the Republican caucus as a whole.

Still, these lawmakers were steadfast in their opposition to Mr. McCarthy on Tuesday, despite reports that Mr. Trump had been lobbying on behalf of the California Republican, whom he has called “My Kevin.” On Tuesday, NBC News reported that the former president, when asked directly if he would stick with Mr. McCarthy, had said, “We’ll see what happens.”

Where they are from

Nearly half of the lawmakers who opposed Mr. McCarthy represent districts in three states: Texas, Arizona and Florida.



The New York Times

How they voted

The House held three votes on Tuesday for the speakership. Nineteen Republicans did not support Mr. McCarthy on the first two votes, casting their ballots for others, including Mr. Biggs and Mr. Jordan. Representative Byron Donalds of Florida joined the group on the third vote, throwing his support to Mr. Jordan after voting for Mr. McCarthy on the first two ballots.

Here’s whom the 20 Republicans supported in each vote:

Name District Ballot 1 Ballot 2 Ballot 3
Biggs, Ariz. 5th Ariz. 5th Biggs Jordan Jordan
Bishop, N.C. 8th N.C. 8th Biggs Jordan Jordan
Boebert, Colo. 3rd Colo. 3rd Jordan Jordan Jordan
Brecheen, Okla. 2nd Okla. 2nd Banks Jordan Jordan
Cloud, Texas 27th Texas 27th Jordan Jordan Jordan
Clyde, Ga. 9th Ga. 9th Biggs Jordan Jordan
Crane, Ariz. 2nd Ariz. 2nd Biggs Jordan Jordan
Donalds, Fla. 19th Fla. 19th McCarthy McCarthy Jordan
Gaetz, Fla. 1st Fla. 1st Biggs Jordan Jordan
Good, Va. 5th Va. 5th Biggs Jordan Jordan
Gosar, Ariz. 9th Ariz. 9th Biggs Jordan Jordan
Harris, Md. 1st Md. 1st Zeldin Jordan Jordan
Luna, Fla. 13th Fla. 13th Jordan Jordan Jordan
Miller, Ill. 15th Ill. 15th Jordan Jordan Jordan
Norman, S.C. 5th S.C. 5th Biggs Jordan Jordan
Ogles, Tenn. 5th Tenn. 5th Jordan Jordan Jordan
Perry, Pa. 10th Pa. 10th Biggs Jordan Jordan
Rosendale, Mont. 2nd Mont. 2nd Biggs Jordan Jordan
Roy, Texas 21st Texas 21st Donalds Jordan Jordan
Self, Texas 3rd Texas 3rd Jordan Jordan Jordan

Lee Zeldin, a former representative from New York, received one vote (from Andy Harris of Maryland) on the first ballot. The Constitution specifies that House members choose the speaker, but the speaker does not have to be a current or even a former representative.

Related posts

Several People Killed in Shooting at Copenhagen Mall

David Appleton

Argument analysis: Court considers bright-line and case-specific standards for the Freedom of Information Act’s “deliberative process” privilege

Ray Morrison

Jamaican green-card holder asks court to overrule precedent on “crimes involving moral turpitude”

Ray Morrison

Argument analysis: Bankruptcy metaphysics

Ray Morrison

Liz Cheney says G.O.P. must ‘make clear that we aren’t the party of white supremacy.’

Ray Morrison

Brooklyn Catholic diocese asks justices to block limits on attendance at church services

Ray Morrison

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy